GSSA and GSBA Present Awards at Joint Meeting, December 7-8

Wednesday December 12, 2018

The Georgia School Superintendent’s Association and the Georgia School Boards Associaton held their annual joint meeting at the Waverly Hotel in Marrietta December 7-8.  They presented a number of awards but the crown jewel was the Georgia Superintendent of the Year and it went to Dr. Curtis Jones, Superintendent of the Bibb County Schoosl. 

Dr. Jones is a former GAEL Board of Directors member and past president of GSSA.  He has done a legendary job guiding the Bibb County Schools and we join educators across the state in celebrating this honor for the humble and powerful leader Dr. Curtis Jones. 

Gwinnett County Schools received the Governance Team of the Year Award.  A number of media outlets were recognized including The Dawson County News, The Effingham Herald (Mark Lastinger), the Northeast Georgian, Patrick Graham of the Walton Tribune, and the Wayne County Press Sentinel.

Electronic media was also recognized and included Daniel McDonald of WRGC radio in Baldwin County, Radio 96.9 WRDO in Ben Hill County, and Wanya Reese of 13WMAZ in Dublin City.

In the Student Video Awards competion, Loganville High School took first place, North College and Career Academy of Carroll County took second and Dade County High School took third.

Congratulations to all the winners.