Dr. Andrea McGee, 

Georgia’s 2016 National Distinguished Principal of the Year

 

A Message from our President:

To My Colleagues in Education:

As we begin a new school year, I want to express my appreciation to you for the honor of serving as your president for this next school year. Over my many years in education, I have had many supervisors who have been involved with GAEL and its affiliate organizations. Their influence on me as a leader has instilled the importance of professional membership and collaborative leadership. Our association is built on membership and networking with that membership.

This upcoming school year promises to be challenging in many ways. We have TKES, LKES, Georgia Standards of Excellence, Georgia Milestones Testing, Student Learning Objectives, Response to Intervention, Positive Behavior Interventions and Support, College and Career Readiness and performance Index, and Disproportionality, just to name a few areas of concern for administrators. This doesn’t include the locally developed initiatives. This makes being involved in your state’s professional organization more important than ever. We need your voice of reason as we try to make sense of the legislation that we must implement each year. Having the ability to call upon your network connections can provide you many ideas in which to “eat the elephant one bite at a time” as we try to “start with the end in mind”.

Robert Frost once said, “Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence”. Ladies and gentlemen, we must be the voice of reason and provide the calm leadership for each of our students and staff members during these trying times. James MacGregor Burns said, “Great leadership arises out of great conflict”. We are all facing great conflict as we attempt to educate all of the children of Georgia and I challenge each of you to take a stand for your students and leave this world a better place because you tread on this hallowed ground we call public education!

I wish you a successful and safe year in your communities and encourage you to become a member of GAESP and GAEL. We are all in this together, it is better that we do not stand alone.

Your GAESP President,

Richard (Dick) L. Bazemore, Ed.D.

About Us

Vision

Georgia Achieves Excellence through Successful Principals

Mission

GAESP’s mission is to equip leaders with research based practices that advance student learning. Our organization will provide opportunities for networking, professional learning, and legislative advocacy.

Beliefs

  • All children can and will learn.
  • Elementary Schools provide the foundation for future education.
  • The principal is the instructional leader.
  • High expectations are essential.
  • Education is a collaborative effort involving schools, families, and community.
  • Communication is the key to success

GAESP Executive Committee Listing

President Amy Duke Laurens County Schools

aduke@lcboe.net 

Past-President Richard Bazemore Monroe County Schools richard.bazemore@mcschools.org
President Elect Donna Bishop Gwinnett County Schools Donna_R_Bishop@gwinnett.k12.ga.us
Secretary Shawn Williams Barrow County Schools shawn.williams@barrow.k12.ga.us
Treasurer Rick Little Dalton City Schools rick.little@dalton.k12.ga.us
NAESP St./Fed. Kim Halstead Houston County Schools kimberly.halstead@hcbe.net
GAEL Rep. Richard Bazemore Monroe County Schools richard.bazemore@mcschools.org
Awards Julia Mashburn Liberty County Schools jmashburn@dawson.k12.ga.us
Newsletter Connie Daniels Hall County Schools connie.daniels@hallco.org
At Large Katie Johnson Emanuel County Schools katie.johnson@emanuel.k12.ga.us

GAESP Board of Directors Listing

District Number        
1 Cindy Kinney Dawson County Schools ckinney@dawson.k12.ga.us
2 Anissa JOhnson Clarke COunty Schools johnsonan@clarke.k12.ga.us
3 Leeann Fleischauer Columbia County Schools lfleischauer@ccboe.net
4 Bonnie Green Wilkinson County Schools bonnie.green@wilkinson.k12.ga.us
5 John Strickland Dublin City Schools john.strickland@dublincityschools.us
6 Carter Akins Glynn County Schools cakins@glynn.k12.ga.us
  Paul HUdson Glynn County Schools phudson@glynn.k12.ga.us
7 Sonya Bennett Ware County Schools sbennett@ware.k12.ga.us
8 Richard Fisher Tift County Schools rfisher@tiftschools.com
9 Trina Muse Lee County Schools musetr@lee.k12.ga.us
10 Lisa Whitaker Muscogee County Schools whiataker.lisa@muscogee.k12.ga.us
11 Elgin Mayfield Houston County Schools elgein.mayfield@hcbe.net
12 Heide Pfannensteil Fayette County Schools pfannenstiel.heidi@mail.fcboe.org
13 Christi Hildebrand Coweta County Schools christi.hildebrand@cowetaschools.org
14 Amy Bartlett Forsyth County Schools abartlett@forsyth.k12.ga.us
14 Donna Bishop Gwinnett County Schools Donna_R_Bishop@Gwinnett.k12.ga.us
14 Diamond Jack Atlanta City Schools djack@atlanta.k12.ga.us
15 Brandi Hurston Haralson County Schools brandi.hurston@haralson.k12.ga.us`
16 Nicole Holmes Cherokee County Schools nicole.holmes@cherokee.k12.ga.us
DOE Pam Smith GaDOE pamsmith@doe.k12.ga.us