GAEL LEADERSHIP & STAFF


Dr. Jimmy Stokes Headshot

Dr. Jimmy Stokes
GAEL Executive Director

Dr. Jimmy Stokes was selected to serve as the Executive Director of the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders (GAEL) effective July 1, 2012.

Dr. Stokes has served in a variety of roles in Georgia education in a career that encompasses over forty years. Jimmy Stokes has served as a Chemistry teacher, Assistant Principal, CTAE (Career, Technical, and Agriculture Education) Director, and as Principal of Haralson County, Greene County, and Monroe Area High Schools. Stokes taught at the collegiate level for over twenty years and has been a coach, referee, and announcer for athletic events at the collegiate, high school, and middle school levels.

Dr. Stokes has degrees from Middle Georgia College and the University of West Georgia, as well as a Bachelor's, Master's and Doctorate from University of Georgia. He is the state's only nationally certified School Hearing Officer, and presides over cases in five middle-Georgia counties. In addition to his work with those school systems, Jimmy serves the GASSP as the Legislative Liaison and Lobbyist.

Jimmy is married to Dr. Patricia Stokes and they reside in Madison. They have two daughters, Dona Franks of Madison who is an insurance inspector and Mary Firth of Atlanta who is a language arts teacher at Lakeside High School in DeKalb County. Jimmy is the President of the Rotary Club of Morgan County for 2012-2013. He served as the President of GAEL in 2005-2006.


GAEL Staff

Dr. Jimmy Stokes Executive Director

jstokes@gael.org

706-250-4803
Patricia Myers Conference Coordinator pmyers@gael.org 706-250-4806
Dusty Smith Director, Accounting and Finance dsmith@gael.org 706-250-4802
Ginny Smith Financial Coordinator gsmith@gael.org 706-250-4801
Deborah White Director, Leadership Development (PT) dwhite@gael.org 706-250-4804
Hal Beaver Director, School Improvement (PT) hbeaver@gael.org 706-250-4805
John Tippins Collections Support (PT) jtippins@gael.org 706-250-4817
Don Splinter Adminstrative Support (PT) dsplinter@gael.org  
Main Office     706-250-4800

Board of Directors

President Candace Norton Forsyth County Schools  
Past President Donna Poole Jasper County Schools  
President Elect Jody Barrow Fayette County Schools  
Treasurer Alan Long Jefferson County Schools  
GASSP President Gwendolyn Taylor Dougherty County Schools  
GASSP Member Ben Wiggins Oconee County Schools  
GAMSP President Kerry Cousey Savannah-Chatham County Schools  
GAMSP Member Jesse Davis Houston County Schools  
GAESP President Amy Duke Laurens County Schools  
GAESP Member Richard Bazemore Monroe County Schools  
GACIS President Buffy Williams McIntosh County Schools  
GACIS Member Claire Miller Oconee County Schols  
G-CASE President Charlette Green Cherokee County Schools  
G-CASE Member Jimmy Pitzer Walton County Schools  
GSSA President Michele Taylor Calhoun County Schools  
GSSA Member Steve Barker Coweta County Schools  
GASPA President Sherri Freeman Clarke County Schools  
GASPA Member Vince Richardson    
Ga LF Kimberly Turner Atlanta City Schools  
SSTAGE President Amanda Sailors Madison County Schools  
GELFA President Karen Bryant Univ of Georgia  
GaDOE Representative Caitlyn Dooley GaDOE  
RESA Representative Rachel Spates West Georgia RESA  


 

Affiliate Executive Directors

GASSP- Melton Callahan mcallahan@gael.org 770-289-8759
GAMSP- Bob Heaberlin bheaberlin@gael.org 706-250-4800, ext 4805
GAESP- Hal Beaver hbeaver@gael.org 706-250-4800, ext 4805
GACIS- Deborah White dwhite@gael.org 706-250-4800, ext 4804
G-CASE- Sarah West swest@gael.org 478-747-8222
GSSA - John Zauner jzauner@gsu.edu 404-413-8147
GASPA - Vince Richardson vince@lrfamily.com