Dr, Jimmy Stokes
GAEL Executive Director

Dr. Jimmy Stokes was selected to serve as the Executive Director of the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders (GAEL) effective July 1, 2012.

Dr. Stokes has served in a variety of roles in Georgia education in a career that encompasses over forty years.† Jimmy Stokes has served as a Chemistry teacher, Assistant Principal, CTAE (Career, Technical, and Agriculture Education) Director, and as Principal of Haralson County, Greene County, and Monroe Area High Schools.† Stokes taught at the collegiate level for over twenty years and has been a coach, referee, and announcer for athletic events at the collegiate, high school, and middle school levels.

Dr. Stokes has degrees from Middle Georgia College and the University of West Georgia, as well as a Bachelorís, Masterís and Doctorate from University of Georgia. †He is the stateís only nationally certified School Hearing Officer, and presides over cases in five middle-Georgia counties.† In addition to his work with those school systems, Jimmy serves the GASSP as the Legislative Liaison and Lobbyist.

Jimmy is married to Dr. Patricia Stokes and they reside in Madison.† They have two daughters, Dona Franks of Madison who is an insurance inspector and Mary Firth of Atlanta who is a language arts teacher at Lakeside High School in DeKalb County.† Jimmy is the President of the Rotary Club of Morgan County for 2012-2013.† He served as the President of GAEL in 2005-2006.

GAEL Staff

Dr. Jimmy Stokes
Executive Director


Patricia Myers
Conference Coordinatorpmyers@gael.org706-250-4806
Dusty SmithDirector, Accounting and Financedsmith@gael.org706-250-4802
Ginny Smith
Financial Coordinatorgsmith@gael.org706-250-4801
Deborah WhiteDirector, Leadership Development (PT)dwhite@gael.org706-250-4804
Hal BeaverDirector, School Improvement (PT)hbeaver@gael.org706-250-4805
John Tippins
Collections Support (PT)jtippins@gael.org706-250-4817
Don Splinter
Adminstrative Support (PT)dsplinter@gael.org
Main Office706-250-4800

Board of Directors

PresidentDonna Poole
Past PresidentGreg Arnsdorff
President Elect
Candace Norton
Jody Barrow
GASSP PresidentGwendolyn Taylor
Dougherty County Schools
GASSP Member BEn Wiggins
Oconee County Schools
GAMSP PresidentKerry Cousey
Savannah-Chatham County Schools
GAMSP MemberJesse Davis
Houston County Schools
GAESP PresidentRichard Bazemore
Monroe County Schools
GAESP MemberJulie Raschen
Coweta County Schools
GACIS PresidentClaire Miller
Oconee County Schools
GACIS MemberAmy Fouse
Houston County Schols
G-CASE PresidentAllison Oxford
Murray County Schools
G-CASE MemberJimmy Pitzer
Walton County Schools
GSSA PresidentCurtis Jones
Fayette County Schools
GSSA MemberSteve BarkerCoweta County Schools
GASPA PresidentMacy Defnall
Bartow County Schools
Ga LFKimberly TurnerAtlanta City Schools
SSTAGE President
Shelly Bell
Floyd County Schools
GELFA PresidentJim Kahrs

GELFA MemberMary Hooper
Univ of West Georgia
GaDOE RepresentativeCaitlyn Dooley
RESA RepresentativeLeigh Ann Putnam

Affiliate Executive Directors

GASSP- Melton Callahanmcallahan@gael.org770-289-8759
GAMSP- Bob Heaberlin
706-250-4800, ext 4805
GAESP- Hal Beaver
706-250-4800, ext 4805
GACIS- Deborah Whitedwhite@gael.org
706-250-4800, ext 4804
G-CASE- Sarah West
GSSA - John Zauner
jzauner@gsu.edu 404-413-8147
GASPA - Vince Richardson