By: Bob Heaberlin | February 25, 2011, 5:00 pm

During the Winter GAEL Conference, our board of directors recognizes those members who have received acclaim from GAEL affiliates during the year and those who have devoted many years of service to GAEL and GAEL affiliates.

2011 GAEL President’s Service Professional of the Year Award

Laurie Barron, Smokey Road Middle School (Coweta), NASSP MetLife National Breakthrough School Award

Stuart Bennett, GAEL Executive Director, GAMSP Dr. John Lounsbury Award

Zabrina Cannady, Director of Student Services (Houston County), G-CASE Outstanding New Special Education Administrator Award

Peggy Connell, Muscogee County, GACIS Distinguished Service Award

Tracey Compton, Kilough Elementary School (Dawson), GAESP Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year

Randall Edmunds, Lincoln County, GSSA Bill Barr Award

Sam King, Rockdale County Schools, GSSA Superintendent of the Year 

Jolie Hardin, Matthew Arthur Elementary School (Houston), NAESP Georgia National Distinguished Principal of the Year

Sheila Kahrs, Haymon Morris Middle School (Barrow), NASSP MetLife National Breakthrough School Award

Dan Lane, McIntosh High School (Fayette), NASSP Georgia High School Assistant Principal of the Year

Susan Opferman, Creekland Middle School (Fulton), NASSP Georgia Middle Level Assistant Principal of the Year 

Jo Alice Ray, Rabun County, G-CASE Lillie Moncus Award for Special Education Administrator of the Year 

Gwendolyn Taylor, Huntington Middle School (Houston), NASSP MetLife Georgia Middle Level Principal of the Year 

Wes Taylor, Lowndes High School (Lowndes), NASSP MetLife National High School Principal of the Year


2011 GAEL Membership Service Award:

Suzi Bonifay, Decatur County, GAEL Past President

David Carpenter, Houston County, GAEL Past President

Larry Johnson, Barrow County, GAEL Past President

Ray Jordan, Turner County Schools, GAEL & GSSA Past Board of Directors Member

Eddie Pollard, Tyrone Elementary (Fayette), Past GAESP& NAESP Board of Directors

Ricky Rentz, Glynn County, GAMSP and GAEL Board of Directors

Jimmy Stokes, Walton County, GAEL Past President

Carolyn Williams, Middle Georgia RESA, GACIS Board of Directors

Awards Sponsored by Bowen Photography and Herff Jones