A Message from our President:

To My Colleagues in Education:

First let me say what an honor it is to serve as your president this year! Thank you for this opportunity to grow together as we embark on a new year of leading and learning. When considering all of the new initiatives, legislative mandates, and accountability measures that are expected of us, being involved in a professional organization is more important than ever. Our organization exists to support the work of elementary principals by providing professional learning and networking opportunities. Having been involved in GAESP for over ten years, I have seen the the importance of professional membership and the shared knowledge and expertise that results from professional networking. Essentially, by leading together we can do more with less.

Our association depends on an engaged membership. We want to hear from you. Your ideas and input are invaluable to ensuring that we provide relevant and timely professional learning opportunities. I encourage you to get involved in your state and national associations. GAESP, GAEL, and NAESP can provide unparalleled opportunities for us to grow as school leaders.

Now, as you know, we have been granted increased “flexibility” to make decisions in our systems. With this flexibility comes numerous questions to be answered and local decisions that will impact various aspects of our profession. We’ve all heard the adage: “Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape.” It is more important than ever that we communicate, reassure, and remain focused on providing the very best learning environment for our students and the best working environment for our staff. I wish you the best year yet. If I can help you in any way, please feel free to contact me!

Your GAESP President,

Amy M. Duke, Ed.D.


About Us


Georgia Achieves Excellence through Successful Principals


GAESP’s mission is to equip leaders with research based practices that advance student learning. Our organization will provide opportunities for networking, professional learning, and legislative advocacy.


  • All children can and will learn.
  • Elementary Schools provide the foundation for future education.
  • The principal is the instructional leader.
  • High expectations are essential.
  • Education is a collaborative effort involving schools, families, and community.
  • Communication is the key to success

GAESP Executive Committee Listing

President Amy Duke Laurens County Schools


Past-President Richard Bazemore Monroe County Schools richard.bazemore@mcschools.org
President Elect Donna Bishop Gwinnett County Schools Donna_R_Bishop@gwinnett.k12.ga.us
Secretary Shawn Williams Barrow County Schools shawn.williams@barrow.k12.ga.us
Treasurer Rick Little Dalton City Schools rick.little@dalton.k12.ga.us
NAESP St./Fed. Kim Halstead Houston County Schools kimberly.halstead@hcbe.net
GAEL Rep. Richard Bazemore Monroe County Schools richard.bazemore@mcschools.org
Awards Julia Mashburn Liberty County Schools jmashburn@dawson.k12.ga.us
Newsletter Connie Daniels Hall County Schools connie.daniels@hallco.org
At Large Katie Johnson Emanuel County Schools katie.johnson@emanuel.k12.ga.us

GAESP Board of Directors Listing

District Number        
1 Cindy Kinney Dawson County Schools ckinney@dawson.k12.ga.us
2 Anissa Johnson Clarke County Schools johnsonan@clarke.k12.ga.us
3 Leeann Fleischauer Columbia County Schools lfleischauer@ccboe.net
4 Bonnie Green Wilkinson County Schools bonnie.green@wilkinson.k12.ga.us
5 Quent Floyd Bleckley City Schools qfloyd@bleckley.k12.ga.us
6 Carter Akins Glynn County Schools cakins@glynn.k12.ga.us
  Brittany Mobley Liberty County Schools bmobley@liberty.k12.ga.us
7 Sonya Bennett Ware County Schools sbennett@ware.k12.ga.us
8 Richard Fisher Tift County Schools rfisher@tiftschools.com
9 Trina Muse Lee County Schools musetr@lee.k12.ga.us
10 Lisa Whitaker Muscogee County Schools whiataker.lisa@muscogee.k12.ga.us
11 Elgin Mayfield Houston County Schools elgein.mayfield@hcbe.net
12 Heide Pfannensteil Fayette County Schools pfannenstiel.heidi@mail.fcboe.org
13 Christi Hildebrand Coweta County Schools christi.hildebrand@cowetaschools.org
14 Michael Forehand Atlanta City Schools michael.forehand@atlanta.k12.ga.us
14 Donna Bishop Gwinnett County Schools Donna_R_Bishop@Gwinnett.k12.ga.us
14 Diamond Jack Atlanta City Schools djack@atlanta.k12.ga.us
15 Brandi Hurston Haralson County Schools brandi.hurston@haralson.k12.ga.us`
16 Nicole Holmes Cherokee County Schools nicole.holmes@cherokee.k12.ga.us
DOE Pam Smith GaDOE pamsmith@doe.k12.ga.us